Bannerghatta National Park

Located 22 km away from Bangalore, the Bannerghatta National Park is a sanctuary for a large variety of flora and fauna. Spread over a massive area of around 104.27 sq. km, this national park was established in the year 1971. The park itself has a number of establishments within its confines, which includes the country’s first butterfly park as well.

Karnataka. India

Explore more places

Get Bannerghatta National Park  Guide

Bannerghatta National Park 

The Bannerghatta National Park is one of the National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries in the state of Karnataka in southern India. The sanctuary is 22 km south west of Bangalore on the Bangalore-Mysore highway. The park is spread over 1070 ha (1,100 acres). The park is home to a variety of animals including the Bengal tiger, Indian leopard, sloth bear, sambar deer and flying squirrel.

The Bannerghatta National Park is a national park and a tiger reserve located in the outskirts of Bangalore, India. It is India’s largest national park and second largest in Asia after the Sunderbans. It was established in 1971 and encompasses an area of 739 km (285 km of which is prime protected area) in the neighbourhoods of Anekal, Yelahanka, Devanahalli and Byramangala.

ghoomly facts

“A mud fort established by the ruler
Kempe Gowda was known to be the foundation
of modern-day Bengaluru.”

Nearby Places

Unwind with outdoor and wellness experiences

Enjoy-The-Journey-Not-The-Destination-scaled@1X (1)

Your travel journey starts here.

Sign up now for travel tips, personalized itineraries and vacation inspiration straight to your inbox.


    Read best blogs on Bangalore.

    ghoomly recomendded

    Hand-picked destination from ghoomly team.

    Explore Bannerghatta National Park

    FAQs on Bannerghatta National Park

    Bangalore is known as the “Silicon Valley of India” (or “IT capital of India”) on account of its job as the country’s driving data innovation (IT) exporter.

    Bangalore, authoritatively known as Bengaluru, is the Capital of the Indian State of Karnataka.